Worship

https://i2.wp.com/midwaypca.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Easter-Morning.jpg

It is a worthy meditation as we prepare for our corporate worship this Lord’s day.

People ought to come to corporate worship services to get. They ought to come starved for God. They ought to come saying, “As the deer pants for the water brooks, so my soul pants for You, O God” (Psalm 42:1). God is profoundly honored when people know that they will die of hunger and thirst unless they have God. And it is my job as a preacher to spread a banquet for them. I must show them from Scripture what they are really starving for – God – and then feed them well until they say, “Ahhh.” That is worship (John Piper, The Dangerous Duty of Delight [Sisters, Ore.: Multnomah, 2001], 56).

Also:

If the essence of worship is satisfaction in God, then worship can’t be a means to anything else. You simply can’t say to God, “I want to be satisfied in You so that I can have something else.” Because that would mean that you are not really satisfied in God but in that something else. And that would dishonor God, not worship Him. But in fact, for many people and pastors, the event of “worship” on Sunday morning is conceived of as a means to accomplish something other than worship. We “worship” to raise money; we “worship” to attract crowds; we “worship” to heal human hurts; we “worship” to recruit workers; we “worship” to improve church morale; we “worship” to give talented musicians an opportunity to fulfill their calling; we “worship” to teach our children the way of righteousness; we “worship” to help marriages stay together; we “worship” to evangelize the lost among us; we “worship” to give our churches a family feeling, etc., etc. In all of this we belittle worship and God. Genuine affections for God are an end in themselves (ibid., 57-58).

2 thoughts on “Worship

  1. Thank you for your comments on worship. With Piper you can usually never go wrong.

    The concept of worship as being something we “do” (as in worship before the sermon, special worship services etc.) is prevalent in the church today. We need to realize that everything we do should be directed to pleasing, praising and honoring God, i.e. it is worship. A book that brings this to light, although not as deeply theological as Piper, is Louie Giglio’s “Wired For a Life of Worship.” Recommended reading for anyone who wants to have a full-orbed perspective on worship.

    http://www.amazon.com/Wired-Life-Worship-Leaders-Guide/dp/1590526074/sr=8-2/qid=1167703769/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2/103-4429473-3764668?ie=UTF8&s=books

  2. It is the highlight of my week to go to worship on the Lords day. I can’t contain myself at times during service when I hear God’s words being told to me by the pastor. I often praise God aloud. I have been recently told that this may/or has bothered folks around me. This is very confusing to me. I would hope and pray we are all there to praise God with all our hearts. I guess I also have to remember to be considerate of those around me. Even though I may be silent, I will NEVER stop praising and giving honor to God my father, Lord and Savior.

Leave a Reply

