Prayerlessness

J. C. Ryle:

Prayerless people are not genuine Christians. It is not enough to join in the prayers of the congregation on Sundays, or attend the prayer of a family on week-days. There must be private prayer also. Without this we may be outward members of Christ’s church, but we are not living members of Christ.

J. I. Packer:

Prayerlessness is a sure sign that we scarcely know our God [Knowing God (Downers Grove: IVP, 1993), 29].

D. A. Carson:

Although abstractly I may affirm the importance of prayer, in reality I may treat prayer as important only in the lives of other people, especially those whom I judge to be weaker in character, more needy, less competent, less productive. Thus, while affirming the importance of prayer, I may not feel deep need for prayer in my own life. I may be getting along so well without much praying that my self-confidence is constantly being reinforced. That breeds yet another round of prayerlessness [A Call to Spiritual Reformation (Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2006), 117].

Leave a Reply

