Robert Murray McCheyne on Intercession

Robert Murray McCheyne (1813-1843) on intercession:

I ought daily to intercede briefly for the whole town, the Church of Scotland, all faithful ministers; for vacant congregations, students of divinity, and etc.; for dear brethren by name; missionaries to Jews and Gentiles; and for this end I must read missionary intelligence regularly, and get acquainted with all that is doing through out the world. It would stir me up to pray with the map before me. I must have a scheme of prayer, also the names of missionaries marked on the map. I ought to intercede at large for the above on Saturday morning and evening from seven to eight. Perhaps also I might take different parts for different days; only I ought daily to plead for my family and flock. I ought to pray in everything. “Be careful for nothing, but in everything…by prayer and supplication, make your requests known unto God”… In reading the history of the Church of Scotland, I see how much her troubles and trials have been connected with the salvation of souls and the glory of Christ. I ought to pray far more for our Church, for our leading ministers by name, and for my own clear guidance in the right way, that I may not be led aside, or driven aside, from following Christ [Andrew Bonar, Robert Murray M’Cheyne (Edinburgh: Banner of Truth, 1997), 182-83].

One thought on “Robert Murray McCheyne on Intercession

Leave a Reply

