McCheyne on Planning Prayer

Robert Murray McCheyne on planning prayer:

I ought to spend the best hours of the day in communion with God. It is my noblest and most fruitful employment, and is not to be thrust into any corner. The morning hours, from six to eight, are the most uninterrupted, and should be thus employed, if I can prevent drowsiness… I ought not to give up the good old habit of prayer before going to bed; but guard must be kept against sleep; planning what things I am to ask is the best remedy. When I awake in the night, I ought to rise and pray [Andrew Bonar, Robert Murray M’Cheyne (Edinburgh: Banner of Truth, 1997), 183].

Leave a Reply

