Paganism in the Church (Response)

Regarding my previous post “Paganism in the Church” one of our readers raised this question:

What do you mean by “paganistic worldviews”, and in what specific ways are these worldviews embraced by “many” Midwesterners?

I think it’s a good question and I want to reply it here since this can benefit everyone. First of all, to borrow the words of Paul, paganistic worldviews are simply the “imaginations and every lofty thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God” (2 Corinthians 10:5). Hence any view that is contrary to clear teachings of Scripture is considered pagan. Although I can say much on this, due to time I’ll stop here.

Secondly, though I wasn’t thinking of any specific sin or specific ways, my point is that everyone whether someone lives in Midwest or not, all share fundamental problem in the worship of self. Self-worship and pride are the root of all paganism. “I did it my way” is iconic American cultural value that is so steeped, unfortunately, even in our churches. Typical American Protestant churches today embrace tenets of Arminianism that were considered as heresy by the Synod of Dort, and they are seldom questioned in our generation. I wonder how many that are reading this post have even heard of Dortian theology? That’s another whole issue for another time.

We often equate paganism to primitive occultic practices that of the third-world nations, hence many Americans today hardly think of paganism exists in America. However, paganism cannot be viewed merely by checklist of specific sins or ways, meaning, because I don’t do this or that thus I’m not a pagan. No. As I’ve stated before, whether people live in primitive jungles of Amazon or modern penthouses in New York, everyone is born with paganistic worldviews. Although there are different colors and leafs of paganism, they all come from the same root, namely, exalting and enthroning of self. The only solution to this detrimental problem is the gospel of Jesus Christ. That is why the gospel needs to be preached to all peoples and all nations, even to the religious folks here in Midwest, many who think they’re Christians just because they were confirmed and/or go to church.

Due to time, let me just leave you with the words of Alan Redpath:

If we pray for revival and plead with God to bless, and yet in our lives refuse to submit to His will, we are hypocrites. Before revival comes, perhaps God will either have to remove some of us or break us. Both the outward and the inward look reveal that the will of God is not being done. Because it is not being done in the Christian, there is no blessing in the church. And because there is no blessing in the church, the world is unreached, untouched, going to hell, lost for time and eternity. May He have mercy upon us and help us to see this awful sin in the church of Christ today! We say we care about lost souls; we say we are burdened for the need of men who have never heard the gospel; we say we long to see our cities reached for Christ. Yet all the time in our hearts there is a big capital “I” which has never been broken and is standing in the way [Victorious Praying: Studies in the Lord’s Prayer (Grand Rapids: Revell, 1993), 54].

5 thoughts on “Paganism in the Church (Response)

  1. Mr. Kang,

    Thank you for this post. I would only suggest a small qualification to your statements about paganism.

    The exaltation of man (self) above all is really more of a form of humanism more so than paganism; which normally entails the worship of false gods outside of self. America is steeped in postmodern humanism where man is the measure of all things.

    But your point is valid and well taken.

    p.s.,

    I am well aquainted with the Canons of Dort.

    And I believe you were trying to spell “Arminianism” instead of “Arminism”.

    Blessings.

  2. David,

    Whether one is exalting/worshiping self or false gods outside of self, it is still a form of idolatry, which was my point. But your point is well taken.

    Also, the spelling has been corrected. I’m beginning to realize that I shouldn’t be writing at late nights. I don’t know what is worst – spelling Arminism or Amenianism (ethic group)? Ha!

    Thanks for the comment.

  3. Mr. Kang,
    I would normally not bother with such a post as this but seeing that my mother has read your posts and holds you to be a man of her god (Jesus) I read it. I found the post to be less offensive then the normal Christian dribble about the “EVIL PAGANS”. Still, I must say that you and other Christians lack true understanding about what real Neo-Paganism is about. We do not worship your false god or his evil counter-part, nor have we ever. I do not go around bashing Christians and I wish that they would stop bashing us. The best I can say for your post is that it is your point of view and you are welcome to it.
    Blessed be!
    Green Raven

  4. Green Raven,

    As the title indicates, my post was about paganism in the church, not paganism in the world. Hence the object of my criticism was not about paganism but “churches” who embrace paganistic worldviews whether knowingly or ignorantly.

  5. dear sir,
    i am in total agreement with your views on paganism in the church. i am labled intolerant because of my christian world view,let me rephrase that,my view that Jesus alone is my saviour.there are many so called christians who have a pagan world view.paganism is anything that goes against the WORD of God period.if you support abortion you aqre a pagan,if you support gay marriage you are a pagan,if you do anything or support anything against the word of God youare a pagan.thankyou for your post.
    the Lord Jesus bless you,
    pastor george

Leave a Reply

