Preaching, the Means to Glorify God in a Local Church

I’ve been on the road for the past 13 days adding more than 4,000 miles on my Honda Pilot. I drove through seven states (California, Nevada, Arizona, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming,  and South Dakota)! You can check out some of the pictures I took during my trip at our church’s blog.

Past Sunday, I had planned weeks early to just enjoy the worship service like everyone else since I just came back from a long trip on the night before. But I was called to preach within few hours or so! Did this ever happen to you? I was just scrambling at the last minute and praying for God’s help. I was reminded once again Paul’s words to Timothy: “Preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort, with great patience and instruction” (2 Timothy 4:2). To make the long story short, I gave a message titled “Preaching, the Means to Glorify God in a Local Church.”

Briefly, here are some characteristics of good preaching I’ve mentioned:

  1. Good preaching must be driven by the text of Scripture itself.
  2. Good preaching is when the text of Scripture or truth of the Bible is explained or expounded.
  3. Good preaching uses proper hermeneutics – i.e., exegete from its original languages, interpret the Bible grammatically, historically, and literally.
  4. Good preaching is confrontational.
  5. Good preaching is a result of hard work.
  6. Good preaching is interesting and exciting.

By no means am I suggesting that those are the only characteristics of good preaching. I can think of several other points. Perhaps, I can address them in near-future. However, if you’re interested in reading my transcript, click here.

One thought on “Preaching, the Means to Glorify God in a Local Church

Leave a Reply

