What To Think About T.D. Jakes

What to think about T.D. Jakes? That all depends. He may be a nice guy in person. He may be a nice husband, a good father, a good friend, and so on. I don’t know. I never met the guy.

But I and many others do know what he believes and rejects. And that’s the focal point of my concern and you should too – if you care about truth, gospel, church, and God’s glory. You should never fail to test all things to Scripture just because a person is “nice” (in this case, even popular). Some of the cult groups that ring my house are some of the “nicest” people I met. But their views are utterly dangerous and deadly, simply because they’re not squared with the Bible. Heresies should not be ignored, belittled, or even be embraced just a little.

Some may argue that I and others shouldn’t judge people that we don’t know “personally.” Really? So, just because I didn’t know Hitler “personally” I should not denounce his atrocities? Also, if that’s the case, then why are you judging me when you don’t know me? Enough with nonsense and childish self-refuting arguments!

Contrary to “it’s-none-of-my-business” popular notion, it is my biblical duty to warn the flock that I shepherd concerning questionable teachings and wolves-in-sheep’s clothing. One notable persona is T.D. Jakes. To identify him as a Christian is failure in biblical discernment. Let me recommend an excellent article “T.D. Jakes and the Trinity” by Jonathan Moorhead. It’s a clarion call for churches to discern!

Leave a Reply

