David Martyn Lloyd-Jones (1899-1981)


Welsh preacher, writer and medical doctor. After medical studies and several years as a successful physician, Lloyd-Jones became the pastor of a small Welsh church and later was called to London to serve, along with G. Campbell Morgan, at Westminster Chapel. After Morgan’s retirement in 1943, Lloyd-Jones served as pastor until his retirement in 1968 and was known for his exegetical preaching and his leadership of Inter-Varsity Fellowship (now UCCF) in the United Kingdom. His call for evangelical churches to leave denominations containing theologically liberal congregations caused him to part ways with John Stott and other evangelical Anglican leaders at the Assembly of the National Association of Evangelicals in London in 1966.

Richard Baxter (1615-1691)


A prolific writer and English Puritan pastor. Baxter served the handloom worker community for nearly twenty years in Kidderminster, where he preached as “a dying man to dying men.” Predominantly self-educated, he was converted through his own private reading of the Scripture. After serving as a chaplain for a short period in Cromwell’s army and recovering from an illness, Baxter returned to Kidderminster to focus on writing. Some of his nearly two hundred works include The Saints’ Everlasting Rest (1650), a much loved devotional work he wrote during serious illness; The Reformed Pastor (1656), combating patterns of pastoral neglect; and some polemical works, such as his controversial treatise on justification.